Clarinet.Ballistix – (Nikola Resanovic)


Nikola Resanovic (1955-): for clarinet and soundscape (Alan Vivian)

Bearing a title suggestive of a fictitious news group, “” is a musical representation of some of the bizarre realities of our modern era of digital communications and information. It is the metaphor of the seemingly backwards peasant downloading the latest NASDAQ figures via his cell phone/modem onto his laptop computer in some remote region of the Balkans – his cows grazing in the background. This juxtaposition of the modern and the timeless, the sophisticated and the simple, the sublime and the ridiculous, expresses itself in a music which combines atonality with the “ison”; emancipated rhythm with a metric strait-jacket; a clarinet with an accordion, tambourine and modem.

The 12 minute work is divided into four contiguous movements as follows:

Mvt. 1:“A Matter of Fax” (A three minute sonic montage featuring original samples from various technological sources including a fax/modem. Telephone, short-wave radio, satellite transmissions, mingled with the most precious of all musical commodities-anticipatory silence!).

Mvt. 2: “A Soliloquy” (A three minute, 11 tone, unaccompanied clarinet solo based on every pitch but ‘D’ which appears later as an accompanimental ‘ison’ or drone).

Mvt 3: “A Balkan Dance” (Influenced by Macedonian and Bulgarian dance idioms, the movement features many references to the folk music of this region of the Balkans)

Mvt. 4: “””: (the above three movements are polyphonically combined, and a fourth element – the unrelentingly polite voice-mail lady – is injected into the sonic recipe)

[Program notes by by Nikola Resanovic]

The School of Music’s exciting new online initiative, Streaming Sounds, was launched at a live performance in Llewellyn Hall on Sunday 16th August 2009 at 3pm. Titled Clarinet.Ballistix, this free concert was streamed live to the Internet. Following the performance there was a Q&A forum, open to web viewers, and a linked interactive blog for discussions across audiences in Australia and beyond.

Renowned performers and School of Music staff, clarinettist Alan Vivian, cellist David Pereira and pianist Alan Hicks were joined by pianist Katherine Day to present a varied programme of works from Verdi to Gershwin, including new compositions by Australian composers Elena Kats-Chernin and ANU’s Miroslav Bukovsky. The concert was introduced by Colin Fox of ABC Classic FM.

To watch the full Clarinet.Ballistix broadcast, go to

Likes: 0

Viewed: 744